A teenager sitting in the driver's seat of a car, looking through the window smiling at the camera.  Her father or a driving instructor is sitting in the passenger seat.  She is learning how to drive.

How to Get Your CA Driver Permit

What Is the California Driver Ed Course?

The American Safety Council® offers a driver’s ed course for a California driver’s permit through CaliforniaDriverEdCourse.Com. The course, which is 100% online, is state approved to meet California learner permit requirements. Teens between 15.5 and 17.5 years old are required to take the course before being granted a CA driver permit. As the first step on the road to freedom and independence, the California Driver Ed Course is designed to help teens acquire a basic but thorough understanding of road rules and signs before getting behind the wheel.

The California Driver Ed Course is the easiest and most convenient way to complete the state requirements for driver’s education in the state of California. The course takes a minimum of 25 hours and is presented in a straightforward and accessible manner. During the course, students will work through 15 units that cover road topics such as vehicle codes, pedestrian safety, substance abuse and much more.

As the first step of the driver’s education journey, the California Driver Ed Course is designed with breadth and depth in mind. All teens who complete the course will be well prepared to put their newfound knowledge to use.

Who Takes the Course?

The California Driver Ed Course is for first-time teen drivers between the ages of 15.5 and 17.5. Individuals who fall into this age range must take the course to receive their provisional permit and to make progress on the path to acquiring a full-fledged license. First-time teen drivers over the age of 17.5 and first-time adult drivers will follow a different progression to receive their licenses.

Why Is the Course Needed?

The California Driver Ed Course is required by the state of California for all teens between 15.5 and 17.5 years of age who are seeking to obtain a driver’s license. Operating a vehicle requires a careful balance of knowledge and skill. As teens are still developing the areas of the brain that govern good decision making, it is commonly agreed that a thorough introductory course is necessary to help instill safe and thoughtful driving practices early on. That is why the California Driver Ed Course is necessary—to teach teens the required road knowledge before they begin developing their driving skills.

Why Take the CA Driver’s Ed Course with Us?

The American Safety Council, through CaliforniaDriverEdCourse.Com, provides the most convenient driver’s training in the state for individuals seeking their CA driver permit. There are many reasons why choosing the American Safety Council may be the best choice for you or your teen:

  • Accessible—Since the California Driver Ed Course is offered 100% online, your course material can travel with you and will be available wherever you have an internet connection. So whether you are working at home, in a coffee shop, or at a friend’s house, your course is as mobile as you are.
  • Affordable—We understand first-time drivers do not need to spend a fortune for high-quality driver education. A CA driver permit is a privilege, but not one that should cost an exorbitant amount. Our California Driver’s Ed Course is offered at a price that makes sense for teens and parents in the state.
  • Self-Guided—Do you tend to move faster than the crowd? Or do you like to take your time with your studies? Either way, we allow you to work at your own pace so you can learn in the way that suits your needs.
  • Supportive—Just because you’re working on your own doesn’t mean you won’t have questions. Fortunately, every course comes with 24/7 support, so you can ask a question or get help when you need it.
  • Convenient—The California Driver Ed Course takes a minimum of 25 hours to complete. As a result, you can log on and off as much as you need. The course will save as you go, so you can pick back up where you left off.

What Does the Course Cover?

Learning to drive means taking on a whole new world of knowledge. Before you begin, you may be curious about what exactly you’ll need to learn. The California Driver Ed Course from CaliforniaDriverEdCourse.com is a comprehensive, 15-unit course that covers a variety of topics.

Topics You'll Cover in CA Driver's Ed:

  • Driving responsibility
  • Maintenance and repairs
  • External forces that can affect motorists
  • Road signs, signals and markings
  • California vehicle code
  • Navigating urban and rural settings
  • Vehicle systems
  • Pedestrian safety
  • The impact of alcohol and drugs
  • Motorcycle safety protocol
  • Risky behavior
  • Illegal substances
  • Road rage

If questions arise at any time during the course, students should not hesitate to use the 24/7 support via phone or email. Once all 15 units are complete, students must take a 46-question written final exam at the nearest DMV office. To pass, teens must have at least 38 correct answers, which is a passing score of roughly 82%.

A free DMV practice test is included in the price of the course, so that preparation for this step is a breeze. Provided that teens bring the necessary forms of ID and pass the final exam, they will be issued their CA driver permit.

What Is the Online Experience?

The California Driver Ed Course is offered 100% online. Students do not need to set aside a specific time each day to attend class or even arrive at a specific location. Each individual can take the course when and where is most convenient.

The course will automatically save your progress each time you log on, allowing you to start right where you left off. The entire process is seamless, stress-free and even enjoyable.

A course trainer is available to field any questions or concerns you have while taking the course. This support is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to give you the answers you need.

Benefits of Our Course

In addition to taking the first and arguably most important step on the road to earning a driver’s license in California, the California Driver Ed Course often provides individuals who complete the material with:

Confidence

with the information covered

Optimism

about the ability to handle future driving challenges

Enthusiasm

for the next steps in the learning process

Determination

to continue on the driver’s education path

Since there is no traditional classroom, students are able to work at a pace that feels comfortable, without worrying if they are moving faster or slower than others. The lack of comparison makes the experience more enjoyable and the content more memorable, which leads to greater success down the road.

California Driver’s Ed Requirements

The driver’s education requirements in the state of California are fairly straightforward. Teens must have:

  • Twenty-five hours of instruction (in the classroom or online)
  • Six hours of instruction behind-the-wheel

The California Driver Handbook is a helpful resources for all individuals, but especially teen drivers who are sitting behind the steering wheel for the first time. If you haven’t already, you may want to download a copy to keep on hand.

It is also important to note that the six hours of in-car instruction required for the provisional license do not count toward the 50 hours that are required after obtaining the permit.

The CA Driver Permit Process

Beginning the process of getting a learner’s permit can seem overwhelming at first, but it doesn’t have to be. In fact, once the California Driver Ed Course is out of the way, the remaining requirements are fairly simple.

What you need to be eligible for your permit:

  • Be at least 15.5 years old, but not yet 18
  • An appointment at the nearest DMV office
  • A completed Driver License or Identification Card Application, which you will need a parent or guardian signature for
  • A fingerprint
  • Social security number and legal name
  • Proof of date of birth
  • Proof of residency
  • Proof of driver education completion
  • Pay application fee
  • Pass a vision exam
  • Pass written knowledge test

In most cases, an appointment with the DMV office is required. Walk-ins are allowed only at Driver License Processing Centers. Additionally, no tests will be scheduled to start after 4:30 pm, to allow students an adequate amount of time to complete the test.

Next Steps

Teens must hold their provisional permits for a minimum of six months. After that time, and provided that all other requirements have been met—completing the required 50 hours of driving practice—teens may then begin the process of applying for their driver’s licenses.

Once the driver’s license has been granted, certain Graduated Driving Laws will apply to teens until they turn 18. At that time, they will be granted full driving privileges.

Two Purchasing Options to Suit Your Needs

To make the course even more convenient, CaliforniaDriverEdCourse.Com offers two driver’s ed options at different price points. Option one is the course only. This includes:

  • The driver’s education course
  • Fifty prep questions for the DMV test
  • The completion certificate for the DMV

Option two is the Driver Ed Package. This includes:

  • The driver’s education course
  • Prep for the CA learner’s permit
  • The completion certificate for the DMV

No matter which option you choose, you will receive the same state-approved course material, as well as the same level of high-quality instruction and support, from beginning to end.

Register for the California Driver Ed Course Today

There is nothing more rewarding than having the freedom to drive yourself wherever you need to go. Fortunately, the California Driver Ed Course offered by the American Safety Council through CaliforniaDriverEdCourse.Com is here to help your dreams become reality.

If you are prepared to begin the driver’s education process, do not hesitate to sign up for the California Driver Ed Course today. When you do, you’ll be taking one giant step toward adulthood.

Sources:

CA.GOV: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/?1dmy&urile=wcm:path:/dmv_content_en/dmv/dl/checklists/permit_under18

CA.GOV: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/dl/dl_info#PERMINOR

CA.GOV: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/teenweb/permit_btn1/permit

CA.VOV: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/web/eng_pdf/dl600.pdf