Closeup portrait beautiful, smiling, happy, attractive woman pulling on seatbelt inside white car. Driving safety, buckle up to prevent traffic death accidents concept. Save life. Face expression

Florida Advanced Driver Improvement Online Course

Take the Florida 12-Hour ADI Course Online

More than 90% of automobile crashes are caused by human performance and behavior, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. This is why driver’s education is so important—and why many states require certain drivers to take advanced driver improvement classes.

If you are a Florida driver, for instance, and your license has been suspended for an accumulation of too many points—or you have been labeled a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) for non-DUI related offenses, or you’ve simply been court ordered—you will be required to take a 12-Hour Florida Advanced Driver Improvement Course.

This course aims to remind drivers of the basics of driving safely–such as steering, scanning the road for potential hazards and so forth. Up until 2006, these courses were only available in person, but now, you can access them from the comfort of your home–or from a cafe, park or cubicle.

American Safety Council ® offers a Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV)-approved course that’s easy, quick, affordable and 100% online. No longer do you have to stress about getting to and from a school nor do you have to take time out of your week to attend the in-person class. Instead, you can pace yourself and take your time studying the material.

Advanced Driver Improvement Course at

If you need to go to Florida ADI school to reinstate your license, we can help. Our ADI online course was the first in the nation and is ranked as Florida’s “quickest and easiest” course. The 12-Hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course will give you all the information you need to complete your final exam and get you one step closer to obtaining your driver’s license.

As an industry leader in online driver’s education, we guarantee the following:

  • Flexibility—The material is available at all times so you can take the class whenever you are able.
  • Customer Support, 24/7—Experts are available 24 hours per day, seven days per week.
  • Quick Processing—As soon as you complete the course, the certificate is processed automatically.
  • Completely Online–Even the written exam is included in the course so you don’t have to take it in person.
  • No Hassles–From signing up to taking the final exam, the process is seamless.
  • Affordable–Our course is both affordable and instant. As soon you sign up, you can begin immediately.
  • Protection–We ensure that your information is secured.
  • Accessible–You can access the material from any laptop or device, including your mobile phone.
  • Spanish Version–In addition to the English version, we offer the course in Spanish.
  • Work Preservation–When you login and logout, your progress will be saved so you don’t have to complete the course all at once.

What Is Included in the Course?

The course is very straightforward. The course is broken into:

  • Six sections
  • One conclusion
  • A final exam

If you read everything, fill in answers to all quiz questions, and study the material, you should have no problem passing the final exam.

How Long Does the Course Actually Take?

State law requires Florida advanced driver improvement courses to be 12 hours long:

  • Classroom and study time: 10.5 hours
  • Breaks: 1.5 hours

You can take your time if you need it, though. Once you sign up for’s online course, you have up to 90 days from the day of registration to complete it, unless the FLHSMV or the court has ordered you to finish the course in a shorter time period.

Can’t Wait for Your License to Be Reinstated? See If You Qualify for a Hardship License

If your Florida license was suspended or revoked and you feel you cannot wait for the course to be completed or for your license to be reinstated to start driving again, then you should see if you qualify for a Florida hardship license. Hardship licenses are meant for those who need a car to continue getting to work or school or for a medical reason.

To qualify for one, your suspension or revocation must have been due to one of the following reasons:

  • You accumulated too many points on your license.
  • You received a violation that resulted in death or serious bodily injury.
  • You are considered a Habitual Traffic Offender (though you have to wait one year from the date of the revocation).

To be approved for a hardship license, you must do all of the following:

  • Fill out an application through FLHSMV.
  • Pay the necessary fees.
  • Show proof that you are either enrolled in an advanced driver improvement course or you have already completed one.
  • Bring a list of your driving history.
  • Request a hearing with your local Bureau of Administrative Reviews office.

Please note, if you are a Habitual Traffic Offender whose license was revoked because of a DUI, then you must show proof of enrollment in a DUI school, not a Florida ADI school. To learn more about hardship licenses and to see if you qualify, visit your local Bureau of Administrative Reviews branch.

Sign up for’s Online Course

Ready to get started? You can sign up today for the 12-Hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course. Registration is simple. To enroll, input your personal information, create your login details–which will be used to access the course material–and pay for the course. When you register, you will be asked if you would like your enrollment letter by instant email or first-class mail. If you need it as soon as possible, for your hardship license hearing, request an email copy.

Access Your Driving Records

Can’t remember how many traffic infractions you’ve received or what restrictions you have? What about the number of points on your driver’s license? Or your suspensions? Your driving history will include all of this information and more. Through, you can actually request a copy of your up-to-date driving history, which can be sent by email or mail. You may need this information to get your hardship license, but since this information can easily be accessed by insurance companies, employers and certain businesses—it is also good to know what is listed.

Contact Customer Support

If you are enrolled in the Florida Advanced Driver Improvement Course at and you’re having technical difficulties or trouble understanding the course material, experts are available 24/7. Just call 1-800-393-1063 or visit “Live Chat” on the top right corner of the website and speak with a representative.

Do You Really Need to Take a Florida ADI Course?

Now that you now all about the Florida Advanced Driver Improvement Course, learn more about suspensions and revocations in the state of Florida.

  • In 2010, for instance, 1,799,416 Florida licenses were suspended and this trend has, unfortunately, continued.
  • If your driver’s license is suspended then you cannot legally drive.
  • Your license could be suspended or revoked for any number of reasons—a DUI, failure to pay child support and so forth.
  • After the suspension period ends, it is not automatically You must fulfill specific requirements to get your driver’s license reinstated.

If your license is suspended for any of these reasons, you must take an ADI course to get it reinstated:

  • Failed to comply with or appear at a traffic summons
  • Failed to pay a fine
  • Acquired a certain number of points on your license
  • You are a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO)

How Many Points Lead to a Suspension?

The DMV created the point system to track dangerous and careless drivers. Insurance companies will often raise your premiums if you obtain too many points. You can accrue points by driving with an open alcohol container, passing a stopped bus, speeding, reckless driving and so forth. You can learn more about the Florida point system at the FLHSMV website.

If you accrue one of the following in Florida, you will need your license reinstated—and you will need to take an ADI course:

  • Twelve points within 12 months, which results in a 30-day suspension
  • Eighteen points within 18 months, which results in a 3-month suspension
  • Twenty-four points within 36 months, which results in a 1-year suspension

Are You a Habitual Traffic Offender?

You may be a Habitual Traffic Offender if you have been convicted of 15 convictions for moving traffic offenses within a five-year period or if you have been convicted of the following at least three times within a five-year period:

  • Committed voluntary or involuntary manslaughter, which resulted from your vehicle
  • Drove a motor vehicle on a suspended or revoked driver’s license
  • Failed to stop and offer aid, as required under Florida laws, in the event of a motor vehicle crash, which results in the death or personal injury of a person
  • Driving under the influence (DUI)
  • Any felony in the commission of which motor vehicles are used

Three Crashes in 36 Months

If you are convicted of or plead nolo contendere—not accepting or denying a charge, but accepting punishment—to a third traffic offense that causes a crash within 36 months, then you will be required to take an advanced driver improvement course in Florida, in addition to other requirements by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does it take to receive the certificate?

Your enrollment verification can be delivered by email or US First Class Mail as soon as you register.
Once you pass, American Safety Council will automatically process your certificate of completion either through mail or email—and if you want the certification as soon as possible, choose email.

What else do you need to do to reinstate your license?

This depends on what you did to get your license suspended, but in addition to completing Florida ADI school, you will likely need to visit your local Florida Bureau of Administrative Review office and bring the following:

  • A copy of the summons
  • A certificate showing that you completed the advanced driver improvement course
  • Pay required fees

If you reinstate your driver’s license in the state of Florida, what fees must be paid?

Depending on why your license was suspended or revoked, you may have to pay the following:

  • Suspension fee: $45
  • Revocation fee: $75
  • Fee for not paying child support (if appropriate): $60
  • Fee for unpaid traffic tickets (if appropriate): $60
  • Administrative fee for a drug- or alcohol-related offense (if appropriate): $130
  • Interlock ignition fee (if appropriate): $12

What is the difference between a revoked license and a suspended license?

  • Revoked License—If your license has been revoked, it means that your license has been cancelled and you cannot reinstate it. If you wish to get another license, you must request approval from your state’s DMV, pay the driver civil penalties you may owe and go through Florida’s licensing process to get a completely new driver’s license.
  • Suspended License—If your driver’s license is suspended then it is essentially “out of service.” There are two types of suspended licenses: definite and indefinite.
    • A definite suspension means that when the suspension period ends and you have done what needs to be done to reinstate the license, you can start using your license again.
    • An indefinite suspension means that the license will remain suspended until you take some sort of action. For instance, paying child support, paying traffic ticket(s) and so forth.

What happens if you drive while your license is suspended?

If you are caught driving with a suspended, revoked or canceled license, then you will likely serve 60 days in jail and pay up to a $500 fine, as well as be required to fulfill the steps needed to reinstate the license, which includes taking a Florida Advanced Driver Improvement Course.

Can you explain the point system?

In Florida—and throughout the country—common traffic infractions are given a number value. These are considered points and each infraction is given a different value depending on the severity of the violation. For example, if you are charged with reckless driving, you will accrue four points in Florida. If you are caught littering, you will accrue three points on your driver license, and if you receive a certain number of points, then your driving privileges may be taken.


National Highway Traffic Safety Administration:

Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles:

Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles:

Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles:

Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles:

The Balance: