Online Driver’s Education in Georgia for Teen Drivers
Learning how to drive is an exciting part of your teenage years. When it’s time for you to get behind the wheel for the first time and work toward your driver’s license, you want to feel prepared.
Driver’s education is the best way to learn driving basics and become a confident, safe driver. American Safety Council® provides an online Georgia driver’s ed course for a convenient, effective approach. Our course is approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) and meets the 30-hour Joshua’s Law requirement—no classroom required.
Ready to take the first step toward earning your learner’s permit and driver’s license? Enroll in our Georgia 30-Hour Driver Education Course and get started today.
Joshua’s Law: Why You Need Driver’s Ed in Georgia
Joshua’s Law, or Senate Bill 226, was passed in 2005 after high school student Joshua Brown hydroplaned, crashed his vehicle and died of fatal injuries. His death spurred legislators to create a higher standard of training for teen drivers in Georgia. The law requires that 16-year olds looking to have a driver’s license must complete a Georgia DDS-approved, 30-hour driver’s education course and 40 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel training, six of which must be at night.
Seventeen-year olds can get their Class D provisional license without driver’s ed. However, they must still complete the 40 hours of supervised driving training with a parent or guardian.
Who Can Take Georgia Driver’s Ed?
You can begin a driver’s education program in Georgia as soon as you turn age 14. To get a learner’s permit, you must be age 15.
If you are age 16 and meet the Georgia DDS requirements, you can get a Class D provisional driver’s license. Once you are 18, you update this license to a Class C “under 21” driver’s license.