Take a 4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course in MI
One of the consequences of getting a traffic ticket is that insurance companies can check your driving record and increase your premium. By taking a Michigan basic driver improvement course (BDIC), you can avoid acquiring points on your driver’s license and upping your premium. The course must be completed within 60 days of receiving your notice of eligibility from the state.
Through MichiganSafetyCouncil.com, American Safety Council® provides the first online basic driver improvement course to be approved by the Michigan Department of State (MDOS). We make completing our online traffic school fast and easy, no matter your driving experience, work schedule or lifestyle.
Fill out our online form to enroll in Michigan BDIC from American Safety Council and begin the course today.
Who Is Eligible for a Michigan BDIC?
How do you know if you can take a BDIC? The State of Michigan sends you a notice of eligibility in the mail telling you that you qualify. In general, you can take the Michigan BDIC if you meet these requirements:
- You got a ticket that counts for 3 points or less on your driving record.
- The violation was not a criminal offense.
- You weren’t driving a commercial motor vehicle when you got the ticket.
- You have valid, non-commercial license with no more than 2 points on your driving record.
Be on the lookout for this letter if you’ve received a ticket and aren’t sure if you qualify. You must complete the course within 60 days of receiving your notice, so it’s important not to waste time wondering about your eligibility.
Michigan Traffic Tickets and Driving Records: How They Work
When you receive a traffic ticket, it counts for a certain number of points on your license. The point system determines how many points a violation is on your driving record. A violation can be minor and worth three or less points, while some are considered misdemeanors or felonies and worth up to six points.
You can take a basic driving improvement course for traffic convictions under three points, including:
- Driving 1–15 miles per hour over the speed limit
- Failure to stop for a school bus or at a stop sign
- Running a red light
- Improper passing
To read the full list of traffic violations that make you eligible for a BDIC, see the MDOS website.
If you’re not sure how many points are on your driving record, you can request a copy of your driving or vehicle record online from the Record Lookup Unit. This process takes up to two weeks and costs $11. You can also purchase a certified driving record copy at any branch office for $12. Once you receive your copy, you can also download this guide from the MDOS on how to understand what your driving record says.
Driver Responsibility Fee
In addition to points on your license, getting a traffic ticket also generally requires you to pay a fine. In the state of Michigan, there is an additional Driver Responsibility Fee for certain offenses or if you accumulate seven or more points. Many if not all of the offenses that qualify in the Driver Responsibility Law are not eligible for the BDIC program, as many are worth more than three points.
The state of Michigan is ending this program, with the final closing date as October 1, 2018. In the meantime, if you receive a ticket before that date, expect to pay the Michigan Driver Responsibility Fee.
Why Take a BDIC with American Safety Council?
If you meet the requirements for a basic driver improvement course in Michigan, you can benefit from enrolling in our online course in these ways: