A teenager young girl in the process of taking the driver examination for driver's license. She is carefully driving while the examiner is scoring her driving skill.

Online Ohio Driver’s Ed for Teen Drivers

What Is It?

Online driver’s education course

Who Is It For?

Teens age 15 years and 5 months through age 17

Why?

Required to earn your driver’s permit and license

How?

100% online, affordable courses

Learning to Drive with Ohio Driver’s Education

Every teen dreams of experiencing the freedom that comes with a driver’s license. When it’s time to learn how to drive, you want an option that is flexible, affordable and effective. American Safety Council® offers Ohio driver’s education online through FirstTimeDriver.com. Approved by the Ohio Department of Public Safety (DPS), our self-paced driver’s ed course is the first step in earning your learner’s permit and driver’s license.

Fill out our form to register for the Ohio Driver Education Online Course from American Safety Council. You can also purchase our permit exam prep or driver’s ed and permit exam prep courses together to make the most of your driver’s ed experience.

Why Take Driver’s Ed?

Successfully completing driver’s education is an Ohio DPS requirement if you want to have your driver’s license. Not only that, but driver’s ed teaches how to be a safe driver, traffic laws, driving techniques and other topics that are essential if you’re going to be behind the wheel. This class is important for keeping you safe while driving, as well as protecting others on the road.

Who Can Take Ohio Driver’s Ed?

Our Ohio Driver Education Online Course is for teens between ages 15 and 17. You must be 15 years and 5 months old to enroll in our course, and you can apply for your permit when you turn 15 years and six months old. Before you can apply for the permit, you must complete the online driver’s ed course.

If you are age 18 or older, the Ohio BMV requires that you take an abbreviated adult driver training course, which is separate from this 24-hour driver’s ed class.

Why Choose American Safety Council?

100% Online

Our Ohio driver’s ed course is completely online and accessible from any device, so you can skip the classroom environment.

Ohio DPS-Approved

Our course meets all state requirements. After completing the class, you are in great shape to confidently take the permit test.

Convenient

The course is self-paced, so you can log in and out as much as you need without losing any progress. Complete the course at a time that works best for your schedule.

Affordable

It’s important to American Safety Council that we offer our courses at competitive prices. Our online driving school is less expensive than classroom options.

Student Support

Need help? Our experts are available at all times when you have a question. Reach out to us through phone or live chat.

Secure

Our secure registration forms protect your personal information, such as your email address, and we ask multiple security questions at login.

About Our Online Driver’s Education Program

When you sign up for our Ohio Driver Education Online Course, you create a username and password that you use to log in and out. Since the course is fully online, you can take the course whenever and wherever works for you. Whether you choose the school library, home or a coffee shop, all you need is internet access to log in and make progress toward earning your driver’s permit and license.

How Long Does Online Driver’s Ed Take?

Our course includes 24 hours of driver education. You have up to 180 days to complete the course. While you can work on the course at any time, there is a 4-hour training maximum every day.

After you complete the first two hours of the course, American Safety Council sends you a Certificate of Enrollment through first class mail. Use this Ohio driving school certificate of enrollment to sign up for an approved behind-the-wheel training program, where you practice driving with an instructor for eight hours. You can take behind-the-wheel training and work on the online course at the same time. Both the online education and in-person driving portions are required by the state of Ohio.

Please note that the course has security questions to protect your personal information. If you don’t answer the questions within 60 seconds or answer more than two questions incorrectly, you are locked out of the course for 24 hours.

Topics for Driving Lessons Online

  • Parts of a vehicle
  • How to operate a vehicle
  • Basic vehicle control
  • Ohio traffic signs and laws
  • Driving in inclement weather
  • Defensive driving

Passing Online Driver’s Ed

Our course features quizzes at the end of each unit. To pass the class, you must make at least a 70% on every quiz. At the end of the course, you take a 50-question final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must score at least 75% on the final exam.

Once you pass the course, American Safety Council sends you an official Certificate of Completion through first class mail. Use this certificate to apply for your permit and driver’s license.

Teen Drivers: Getting Your Permit in Ohio

After passing driver’s ed online and receiving your certificate of completion, the next step is getting your temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC). When you are 15 years and six months old, visit your nearest Ohio driver exam station to take the knowledge and vision tests.

Bring these items with you to the driver exam station:

  • Proof of your full legal name
  • Proof of your date of birth
  • Proof of your social security number, if applicable
  • Certificate of completion

The Ohio BMV provides more information on these documents online.

Pass the Knowledge Test with the Help of American Safety Council

You must pass both the vision screening and knowledge test before earning your TIPIC:

  • Vision Screening—This is a test to show that you meet the vision requirements for having a license.
  • Knowledge Test—Answer 40 multiple choice questions about traffic signs and motor vehicle regulations. You must score at least a 75% to pass. If you fail the test, you can retake it after 24 hours. Make sure you let the driver exam station know if you need any special accommodations to take the test.

How do you know what to study to pass the knowledge test? American Safety Council provides an Ohio Online Permit Prep Course that covers everything you need to know. You can also take our online practice test to see how you score before taking the real exam.

Purchasing a TIPIC

The next step is purchasing a TIPIC within 60 days of passing the knowledge test. Bring proof of these items to the deputy registrar license agency:

  • Full legal name
  • Date of birth
  • Ohio residency
  • Social security number, if applicable
  • Citizenship or legal presence

Your parent or guardian must also be with you to present their driver’s license or identification card and co-sign for the TIPIC.

Driving with Your TIPIC

Now that you’ve earned your permit, there are a few rules and restrictions to ensure that you and your passengers are safe on the road:

  • Keep your permit with you at all times when driving.
  • You must have a parent, guardian or licensed driving instructor in the passenger seat until you turn age 16.
  • You and your passengers must wear seatbelts.
  • Your passenger may not be intoxicated.

If you are age 16 or older, you can drive with a licensed driver over age 21 as a passenger. However, if you’re driving between 12 a.m. and 6 a.m., your passenger must be a parent or guardian.

Earning Your Ohio Driver’s License

To get your driver’s license, you must meet these requirements:

  • Complete a driver’s education class with 24 hours of instruction (such as the one offered by American Safety Council) and 8 hours of driving time.
  • Have a TIPIC for at least six months.
  • Complete 50 hours of driving, 10 of which must be at night, to practice operating a vehicle.
  • Pass the driving skills test.
Subject: A teenage girl looks back at an orange cone as she learns to drive and practices parallel parking with a driving instructor or parent.

What to Expect from the Driving Test

Once you’ve completed your 50 hours, schedule a driving test with your nearest driver exam station. Bring your TIPIC, driver education certificate and the car you’ll use to take the driving test. The instructor inspects the car before the test begins.

The test is broken up into two parts—driving and maneuverability—to evaluate your abilities. During the driving test, you perform basic driving skills, such as:

  • Driving in the correct lane
  • Turning around and backing up
  • Stopping
  • Starting
  • Using turn signs

For the maneuverability test, the instructor sets up a 9-by-12-foot box and a center point with markers. You must steer to the right or left of the center marker. Then, you must back up from that position to the starting position.

Bumping the markers, misjudging distance and other errors subtract points from your overall score. You immediately fail the test if you run over or knock down a marker. If you do fail the test, you can take it again after seven days. You must wait six months if you fail more than four times.

Parent Involvement in Driver’s Education in Ohio

As a parent or guardian, you may be worried about your teen driving for the first time. There are many ways you can support them as they learn to drive and work toward earning their permit and driver’s license:

  • Commit to driving lessons. Once your teen has earned their permit, they must complete at least 50 hours of driving practice with a parent, guardian or licensed driver over age 21 in the passenger seat. Your participation is essential in fulfilling this requirement.
  • Go with them to the driver exam station and deputy registrar license agency. The state requires that you show your valid driver’s license or ID and co-sign for your teen’s TIPIC.
  • Make sure you have a valid driver’s license. Since your teen driver needs an eligible passenger to instruct them while behind the wheel, it’s important that you have an up-to-date driver’s license.
  • Be a safe driver. Setting a good example for your teen is crucial as they learn to drive for themselves.
  • Take care of your vehicle. Repairing and maintaining your vehicle in a timely manner will show your teen how to be a responsible car owner.
  • Build driving practice into your schedule. Get into the habit of letting your teen drive during daily routines, such as driving to school or home from practice. Try setting aside a few hours each weekend for driving lessons.
  • Give clear corrections and encouragement. Whether your teen drove over your freshly planted grass seed or just can’t seem to brake smoothly, making mistakes while driving can frustrating for both you and your student driver. Keep calm and provide clear, helpful instructions for next time.
  • Register them for American Safety Council’s online driver’s ed course. As our course is Ohio approved, it teaches your teen everything they need to know. You can rest assured that they have the knowledge and skills to be safe on the road.

Sign Up for Ohio Driver’s Ed Online

Learning to drive is a milestone in a teenager’s life. American Safety Council provides a convenient, effective way to take steps toward earning a permit and driver’s license. By signing up for our Ohio driver’s education, you can fulfill your 24-hour driver education requirement completely online and on your own schedule. We offer three options for the permit exam prep and driver’s ed course. Register today to get started.

Ohio Online Permit Prep Course

Sign Up Now

Ohio Online Driver Education Course

Sign Up Now

Ohio Driver Education and Prep Course Package Deal

Sign Up Now

Read our frequently asked questions listed below to learn more about our Ohio online driver’s ed course.

What number do I call for customer support?

If you have questions about your account or the course, call 1-800-393-1063 at any time to speak to one of our representatives. You can also reach us through live chat.

Can a driver’s ed certificate expire?

No, your driver’s ed certificate doesn’t expire.

Do you have to take driver’s ed if you are 18?

People age 18 and older seeking to earn a first-time driver’s license take an abbreviated adult driver training course of four hours.

Can I wear glasses during the vision screening?

Yes. If you normally wear glasses or contacts, use them during the screening.

Are the eight hours and 50 hours of required driving practice separate?

Yes. Complete the eight hours with an approved behind-the-wheel driver training program before you get your permit. You complete the 50 hours, including 10 hours of night driving, once you have your permit.

Sources:

Ohio BMV: http://bmv.ohio.gov/dl-abbreviated-adult.aspx

Ohio BMV: http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/dl-temp-u18.aspx

Ohio BMV: http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/locations.aspx

Ohio BMV: http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/dl-identity-documents.aspx

Ohio BMV: http://bmv.ohio.gov/dl-restriction-vision.aspx 

Ohio BMV: http://bmv.ohio.gov/dl-driving-tests.aspx