Texas Parent-Taught Driver’s Ed Course Details
TexasDrivingSchool.com offers an informational, easy-to-understand course, as part of the parent-taught driver’s ed requirements, which can be accessed 24 hours per day, seven days per week so students can review the material at any time.
Before starting the course, here’s what you need to know:
- The state of Texas requires the online course to include 32 hours of online instruction, which can be completed at your own pace.
- There are twelve modules—each module covers a different topic.
- There is a quiz at the end of each module to test the student on their understanding of the material.
- The first module takes six hours to complete. When the student completes the first module, they can take their permit exam online, and once they pass, they can apply for a learner’s license.
- If the student does not want to take the permit exam online, they can take it at the DPS office.
- There are course timers used for each module in order to monitor the students progress and ensure that they fulfill the state’s required learning hours. Students will not be allowed to proceed to the next lesson until the time requirement is met.
- At the end of the course, there is a final examination.
TDLR prohibits students from completing the classroom portion of the program in fewer than 16 days.
What Are the Course Requirements?
To complete the Parent-Taught Driver’s Ed Online Course, in addition to taking the learner’s permit exam, you must complete the following:
- 32 hours of classroom lessons—or online learning, which the TexasDrivingSchool.com online course fulfills
- 44 hours of behind-the-wheel training with these stipulations:
- At least seven hours of in-car observation with the student as a passenger
- At least seven hours of behind-the-wheel driving supervised by the eligible parent or legal guardian or a certified instructor
- An additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving (and 10 of those hours must be at night)
- Receive a passing score of 70% or higher on all module quizzes
- Receive a passing score of 70% or higher on a 20-question final exam
The stipulations to the above must also be met:
- The student shall not be instructed for more than two hours in one day.
- The student should not drive for more than one hour per day.
What Lessons are Included in the Online Course?
By the end of the course—and the parent-taught driver’s ed program—teen drivers will understand how to drive safely and how to read traffic signs and signals. The Texas Parent-Taught Driver’s Education Online Course, in particular, will help students become better drivers and prepare them for the final driving test. Some of the things they will learn during the online course:
- The dangers of distracted driving
- Texting while driving
- Texas driving laws and rules of the road
- How to drive in certain weather conditions
- The importance of car maintenance and what is required to drive a car
- How to prevent accidents and what to do if you’re in one or see one
- How to practice safe driving techniques and behaviors
Register for the Online Course
You can sign up for the TexasDrivingSchool.com course through a quick, hassle-free process. Simply put your information in—which will be protected and used as part of your login information—pay the fee, and get started with the first module in the parent-taught packet as soon as today.
The Process for Completing the Parent-Taught Driver’s Ed Course
Once a student completes the first module, they can pay an additional fee to take the permit exam online instead of taking the in-person DPS permit exam. Then, the following will occur:
- Once they complete the permit exam, the student will receive the DE-964E 6-Hour Permit Qualification Certificate. It will be emailed to the student within three days of passing the exam.
- The student will take their certificate and the requested materials to the DPS office and apply for their learner’s permit.
- After earning a learner’s license and completing all of the Texas Parent-Taught Driver’s Education Online Course requirements, we email you a downloadable version of the completion certificate.
- Complete all driving lessons, which must be included in the TDLR Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log (as part of the PTDE packet).
Earning a Texas Learner’s License
If you have completed the first module of the Texas Parent-Taught Driver’s Education Online Course, you can apply for a learner’s license. You must visit your local DPS office. If you have already taken the Texas learner’s permit exam through TexasDrivingSchool.com, then you will not be required to pass the in-person written knowledge test.
At the DPS office, you must present the following information:
- Proof of identification
- Proof of age—you must be at least 15 years of age
- Proof of social security number
- Proof of US Citizenship
- Proof of Texas legal residency
- A filled out Verification of Enrollment and Attendance form, which proves that you are enrolled in a school or have received your GED or high school diploma
- Application for a driver’s license or identification card, called Form DL-14A
- Proof that you completed the classroom component and passed the permit exam—if taken online, you must present the DE-964E 6-Hour Permit Qualification Certificate
- The DL-90A and DL-91A forms from the PTDE packet, if enrolled in parent-taught education
- The licensing fees
Earning a Texas Provisional License
After earning a learner’s license, the next step is to apply for and obtain a provisional license, which is essentially a restricted license for any Texas driver between the age of 16 and 18. To apply for a provisional license in the state of Texas, the student must have fulfilled the following requirements:
- Obtained a valid learner’s license and maintained it for a minimum of six months
- Completed all classroom learning requirements
- Completed all on-the-road driving requirements
- Completed the Impact Texas Drivers (ITD) requirement
In addition to all of the above, they must pass the vision test and driving test. The Texas provisional license will expire on the driver’s eighteenth birthday and at that time, the driver can then obtain an unrestricted Class C Texas driver’s license.