Close up photo of a businessman yelling at his phone

Take our Tennessee Defensive Driving Course Online

What Is the Tennessee Defensive Driving Course?

A defensive driving course is designed to improve your driving skills and help you become a safer driver. If you are looking for a way to reduce the number of points on your driving record, fulfill a court order or earn an insurance discount, a defensive driving class could benefit you.

American Safety Council® offers a Tennessee defensive driving course to meet these needs. Our Tennessee Online Traffic School course is approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety (DOS) and provides an affordable, convenient option that satisfies your requirements.

Fill out our online form to register for our defensive driving class today. You can also sign up to take the insurance rate discount course online.

Why You May Need to Take a TN Defensive Driving Course

Many people can become better drivers and benefit from taking a defensive driving course, but not all are eligible. Your eligibility is usually determined by the Tennessee DOS, court or your car insurance company.

The Tennessee Online Traffic School and Tennessee Mature Driver courses from American Safety Council are right for those who need to:

  • Dismiss a traffic ticket
  • Meet a court-ordered requirement
  • Decrease the number of points on your driver’s license
  • Prevent a suspension of your driver’s license
  • Lower your insurance rates (if age 55 and older)

Driver Improvement Programs

The Driver Improvement Section is part of the Tennessee DOS and monitors driving records. This group has different protocols for adults and juveniles (under age 18) that determine when a driver improvement program, such as American Safety Council’s defensive driving course, is necessary.

Driver Improvement for Tennessee Adult Drivers

If you are an adult who has earned 12 or more driving record points in a 12-month period, the Tennessee DOS will first send you a notice of the proposed driver’s license suspension. They also provide a date for a court hearing. If you attend the hearing, you can take a defensive driving class to reduce the length of or even prevent the suspension. American Safety Council’s TN defensive driving course meets this requirement. However, if you don’t attend the hearing, your license is suspended for six to 12 months.

Driver Improvement for Tennessee Juvenile Drivers

Drivers younger than 18 years old who earn six or more points on their driving record in a 12-month period follow this process:

  • The Tennessee DOS notifies the driver of the proposed suspension period and that they are at risk of losing their license.
  • The driver must attend a hearing with their parent or guardian.
  • If you attend the hearing, the court determines the outcome based on the number of driving record points and what happens in the hearing. Possible outcomes are:
    • The driver’s license is suspended for three to 12 months.
    • The driver must complete a defensive driving course in 90 days. Sign up for American Safety Council’s online traffic school to fulfill the court order.
    • If you don’t attend the hearing, the juvenile’s driver’s license is revoked for six months.

TN Driving Laws: How Do I Get Points on My Driving Record?

Wondering how you get points on your license that lead to taking a defensive driving course? Here are a few examples of breaking Tennessee driving laws and how many points they add to your driving record:

Breaking TN Driving Laws and Their Points

  • Speeding—The more miles per hour (mph) you’re over the speed limit, the more points go on your record. For example, going 6–15 mph over the speed limit is 3 points, while going 26–36 over is 5 points. If you got caught speeding in a construction zone, then the point amount increases by 1.
  • Passing a stopped school bus—This moving traffic violation earns you 8 points. The same goes for passing a church or youth bus that is taking on or letting off passengers.
  • Causing an accident—If the accident involves property damage, you get 3 points on your license. That number increases if the accident causes injury or is fatal to another person.
  • Driving without a license—Operating a vehicle without a license costs drivers 2 points in the state of Tennessee.
  • Failing to yield the right-of-way—Breaking this traffic law results in 4 points.
  • Using a cell phone while driving—If you are under age 18, talking or texting on a cell phone while driving is 6 points.

Please note that the number of points can vary slightly if you drive a commercial vehicle.

TN Defensive Driving Course Online with American Safety Council

When searching for a Tennessee defensive driving class, you want to sign up for something that easily fits into your schedule and lifestyle. Traffic school with American Safety Council is completely online and meets the state’s court requirements. We also offer a class for drivers who would like to earn a discount on their car insurance.

You can complete both the Tennessee Online Traffic School and Tennessee Mature Driver Online courses at your own pace, saving your progress each time you log in and out. The courses are accessible from any device. Whether you complete our class between work shifts or after your kids go to sleep, completing our online defensive driving course is a convenient option.

Tennessee Online Traffic School

The TN defensive driving course offered by American Safety Council is 4-hours long and satisfies your court order. There are quizzes at the end of each module with unlimited attempts. At the end of the course, students must score an 80% or higher on a 20-question final exam to pass. However, you are guaranteed to pass, as you can attempt the final exam as many times as needed.

Once you successfully complete the course, American Safety Council sends you a certificate of completion that you can download and print. Present this document to the court as proof that you met the defensive driving requirement.

Ready to begin Tennessee Online Traffic School? Sign up now to get started.

Tennessee Mature Driver Online

Approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety, this 8-hour course is available for Tennessee drivers who have a valid license and are age 55 or older. By completing this course, you can earn up to a 15% discount on your car insurance for three years. Check with your insurance company to confirm the reduction rate they offer.

This course is designed for your success with no final exam and unlimited module quiz attempts. When you complete the course, you immediately receive a downloadable and printable certificate of completion from American Safety Council. Send this certificate to your insurance provider to receive the discount.

Register for the Tennessee Mature Driver Online course and start working your way toward earning your car insurance discount.

Defensive Driving Course Topics

  • Tennessee traffic laws
  • Tips on defensive driving
  • How to share the road with other vehicles
  • Alcohol education and safety
  • Safe driving behaviors and attitudes

Why Should I Complete TN Defensive Driving with ASC?

TN Department of Safety-Approved

Our course meets your Tennessee defensive driving and car insurance discount requirements.

Easy to Access

To work on the course, all you have to do is log in using your account. You can pick up right where you left off.

No Classroom Needed

Take our 100% online traffic school from anywhere, at anyplace and anytime.

Affordable Prices

American Safety Council offers this budget-friendly course at a low cost.

Around-the-Clock Support

Have a question about your account or course? We offer 24/7 online support. Chat, email or call us at any time.

Customer Satisfaction

Not happy with our course? We provide a money back guarantee.

Secure Registration

Your personal information is safe with us when you sign up for our defensive driving course.

Become a Better Driver: Driving Safety Tips

After successfully completing online traffic school, you want to take actions that prevent getting another traffic ticket and points on your license.

To avoid accumulating more points and risk a license suspension, follow these driving safety tips:

  • Pay attention to road signs. Did you blow through that stop sign? Watching out for school zones, yield signs and other traffic symbols can save you from getting a ticket.
  • Drive the speed limit. Even if you’re in a hurry, driving the speed limit is important for you and everyone else’s safety.
  • Put your cell phone away. In 2017, Davidson County had 2,769 distracted driving crashes. Focus on driving when you’re at wheel so you’re alert to what’s going on around you.
  • Wear your seatbelt. Develop the habit of wearing your seatbelt if you haven’t already. These safety restraints are proven to save thousands of lives each year in the United States.
  • Adjust your mirrors. When you get in the driver’s seat, check your three mirrors to make sure you can easily see cars behind and on either side of you.
  • Use your turn signals. Turn signals are important cues to surrounding cars. Avoid assuming that other drivers know where you’re headed.
  • Don’t drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Driving impaired means you aren’t as responsive or focused as you need to be to drive safely. This endangers yourself and other drivers on the road.
  • Get repairs done on time. Driving in an unsafe vehicle is a hazard and can make the problem worse—and more expensive to fix. Consider an auto warranty if costs prevent you from fully taking care of your car.

TN Defensive Driving FAQs

What if I need help during the course?

American Safety Council offers 24/7 customer service from our certified driving safety instructors through phone, email and live chat. If you have any questions, call 1-800-393-1063.

Do I have to complete the course all at once?

No. When you register, you create a username and password that allows you to log in and out and save your progress.

Can I take the course from my cell phone?

Yes. The course is available on all devices that have internet access—desktop computers, tablets and cell phones.

Is it possible to fail the course?

With unlimited quiz and final exam attempts, passing the course is guaranteed. However, make sure that you complete the course in the court-order time period. If you are under 18, you need to finish the course in 90 days.

How do I get my certificate of completion?

American Safety Council provides your certificate of completion online. You can download and print it to show the court or your car insurance company.

Where do I go to take the course?

You can take the course from wherever you’d like, as long as you can access the internet. Sitting in a classroom or even taking the class at home isn’t required.

How much of a discount do I get on my insurance after completing the course?

Ask your car insurance company to know the exact discount. The rate is normally up to 15%.

Sign Up for the TN Defensive Driving Course Online

The Tennessee Online Traffic School and Tennessee Mature Driver courses offered by American Safety Council can help you meet your goal of being a safe driver and improving your

driving skills. Sign up online today to protect your driver’s license or earn an insurance discount.

Sources

TN Department of Safety & Homeland Security: https://www.tn.gov/safety/driver-services/driverimprovement.html

TN Department of Safety & Homeland Security: https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/safety/driver-services/driverimprovement/juvenile.html

TN Department of Safety & Homeland Security: https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/safety/driver-services/reinstatements/values.html

TN Department of Safety & Homeland Security: https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/safety/documents/CellPhoneUsage.pdf

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration: https://crashstats.nhtsa.dot.gov/Api/Public/ViewPublication/812319